First Time Drivers and Teen Drivers

Learn the requirements it takes to get a drivers license for the first time.

First Time Drivers and Teen Drivers Categories

    No categories have been created.

First Time Drivers and Teen Drivers Answers

There were 96 articles found in this category:

  • How do I apply for a DE drivers license if I am younger than 18? Delaware

    Driver License Program for Teens Delaware observes a graduated licensing program for teens younger than 18. If you’re a teen, you may apply for a drivers permit if: You’re at least 16. You have completed drivers education. You have passed the written and road test, which is administ ...

  • How do I apply for an IN drivers license if I am younger than 18? Indiana

    This assumes you've already obtained your learners permit, which is the first step to getting your Indiana drivers license. You must hold the drivers permit for at least 180 days before attempting to get your license, and accumulate at least 50 hours of properly supervised driving time (minimum ...

  • How do I apply for an AK drivers license if I am younger than 18? Alaska

    Applying for an AK Drivers License: Younger Than 18 Teens must be at least 16 years old to get a drivers license in Alaska (AK). As a teen you are required to have a learners permit or drivers permit for at least six months before you apply to receive an AK driver license if you are younger than ...

  • How do I apply for an AR drivers license if I am younger than 18? Arkansas

    As a young teen, you'll have a lot to remember to bring to the office. Here's a list of what you'll need. AR Drivers License Requirements (Ages 14-17) One proof of school enrollment. One proof of grade point average of at least 2.0. One proof of U.S. legal presence (such as a valid U.S. passpo ...

  • How do I apply for a CO drivers license if I am younger than 18? Colorado

    Apply for a Colorado Driver License as a Teen Driver Before you can apply for a CO drivers license you must be at least 16 years old and own a learners permit. Depending on age you may apply for one of the three following permits: Driver Education Permit: For teens between 15 and 15 years and s ...

  • How do I apply for a CT drivers license if I am younger than 18? Connecticut

    This varies a bit according to if you have a paper permit or a photo permit. See below for how to apply for your Connecticut drivers license as a photo permit holder. (If you're a paper drivers permit holder, you'll need to pass your knowledge license test, and then schedule an appointment for y ...

  • How do I apply for a HI drivers license if I am younger than 18? Hawaii

    Drivers License for Teens Hawaii requires minors to get an instruction permit before getting a regular driver license. To get the drivers permit, you must be 15 1/2 and: Get your parents to accompany you to the drivers license office to sign the application, so they can witness it. If you have ...

  • How do I apply for an AL drivers license if I am younger than 18? Alabama

    AL Teen Driver License Application Process According to Alabama’s graduated license program, teen drivers younger than 18 must obtain a learners permit before applying for a drivers license. In order to obtain a drivers permit, first-time drivers younger than 16 must submit the following t ...

  • What is the zero tolerance law in regard to underage drinking?

    Zero Tolerance for Teen Drivers Zero Tolerance, as the name implies, makes it illegal for any driver younger than 21 to operate a vehicle with any type of blood alcohol count (BAC). There are slight variations on this, depending on state. California, for instance, makes it illegal for any undera ...

  • Are the steps for renewing a NY permit the same as drivers license renewal? New York

    New York Permit Renewal You must first determine if your learners permit can be renewed. You can only renew if you passed the state's written test within the last two years. If not, you'll need to start all over. You must visit any DMV office and pass a new vision test and a new written test. ...

  • How do I apply for a new NJ drivers license if I am younger than 18? New Jersey

    Applying for a New Jersey Driver License If You're 16 Step 1 Before visiting a DMV office (better known as an MVC office in NJ), you'll need to study for the written test. First, get a free copy of the state's drivers manual. You can download a copy from the MVC Web site, or obtain one from any ...

  • How do I apply for a new MA drivers license if I am younger than 18? Massachusetts

    Before you can get your Massachusetts drivers license as a teen, you'll need to get your permit first. MA Drivers Permit You must complete a drivers education course that's been approved by the RMV. During this class, you'll need to accumulate at least: 30 hours of classroom instruction 12 ho ...

  • What does GDL mean?

    Graduated drivers license. Most states now restrict your first drivers license or learner's permit until certain education and training requirements have been met. In Florida, for example, a teen driver between the ages of 15 and 17 begins the licensing process by taking a drivers education clas ...

  • Are the steps for renewing a PA permit the same as drivers license renewal? Pennsylvania

    Pennsylvania Learners Permit Renewal If you can't complete the requirements of your Pennsylvania learners permit within a year, or you simply want more time to practice, you can renew your permit for $5.00 through PennDOT. However, even though you can, you might never need to renew your PA drive ...

  • Are the steps for renewing a NJ permit the same as drivers license renewal? New Jersey

    Renew License and Learners Permit There are some similarities. Yes, you must renew a drivers permit in-person at a DMV office (or MVC as it's known in New Jersey), just as if you were renewing a drivers license. But to renew an examination permit (for drivers 17 and older) you must also re-take ...

  • Are the steps for renewing a FL permit the same as drivers license renewal? Florida

    Yes, pretty much, if you're talking about in-person renewals. You may have the option of renewing your Florida drivers license by other means, such as using the online, mail, or phone options. Some restrictions apply with these methods, so contact the FHSMV at (850) 617-2000 if you have any ques ...

  • Are the steps for renewing a MA permit the same as drivers license renewal? Massachusetts

    Yes, the renewal process is essentially the same; see below for more information. MA Driver License/Learners Permit Renewal Procedures Go the a RMV office or license-express office Provide your Social Security number (or denial notice) Pay the fee It's a good idea to bring your driver license ...

  • Are the steps for renewing a NC permit the same as drivers license renewal? North Carolina

    No License Renewal for Learners Permit In NC, if you have either a Level One or Level Two permit, it will expire on your 18th birthday. You must then reapply for a new drivers permit. New Drivers License If you are already 18 and have held a learners permit in North Carolina, you might want to a ...

  • Can I make an appointment for NC drivers license renewal?

    Renew License Appointment Yes. It’s not required to make an appointment to renew your drivers license, but it’s recommended. It shortens the license renewal wait time. Some NC DMV offices are not open daily, so if you show up you may not get served. Appointments need to be made at 4 ...

  • Are the steps for renewing a IL permit the same as drivers license renewal? Illinois

    Actually, Illinois doesn’t provide too many details about renewing a learners permit. We’re guessing this is because a drivers permit – which is available once you turn 15 – is valid for two whole years. Given that you can apply for your regular driver license (with restr ...

(Page 3 of 5)     Prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.