How do I apply for a new FL drivers license if I am younger than 18? Florida

Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.

  • You could save 15% or more
  • 24 hour claims service
  • Get a FREE instant quote, today!
As with most states, Florida requires making a lengthy journey to obtain a drivers license.

FL Drivers License Permit Phase


To get a permit, you must be at least 15 years old, and have completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course approved by the DMV. Then, you'll need to pass a hearing, vision, and knowledge test to obtain your permit. Taking a few practice tests is a good way to prepare for your written test.

Bring the documents described below to the drivers license test office.

FL Driver License Training Phase


After you've received your permit, you must accumulate a minimum of 50 hours of driving time with a licensed driver age 21 or over. Ten of these hours must occur at night.

Once you become 18 or have held the permit for a year, you can apply for your Florida driver license. To get your license, you'll need to pass the road test.

FL Required Documentation


Take the following documents to the drivers license office to obtain your teen permit or drivers license:

  • Two proofs of identification
  • Two proofs of residency
  • One proof of date of birth
  • One proof of Social Security number (if you've been assigned a number)
  • One proof of legal presence (if you're not a citizen)
  • One proof you've completed the mandatory drivers education/driver training course

FL Appointments


Appointments aren't required for any of this, but you're encouraged to make them, especially for the tests. Otherwise, you could face a lengthy wait. You may reserve your appointment online at the FL DMV site; in some counties, you can set your appointment by phone.

Florida Fees


Teen permits: $54.25
Drivers license: $48
Initial road and written tests: $0
Each additional road test: $20
Each additional written test: $10

Additional Information


Visit the FL DMV site for a list of acceptable documents, and to learn more about the teen driver licensing process.


Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "How do I apply for a new FL drivers license if I am younger than 18?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

No users have voted.

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.