Do I have to take any written or driving tests to obtain a FL driver license? Florida
Yes, in most situations. See below for the details.
New to FL with a Drivers License
If you just moved Florida and possess a valid drivers license, in most cases you won't be required to take the written and driving tests.
FL Residents 18 and Over
If you've never had a driver license, you'll need to pass both the written and driving tests.
FL Residents Under 18
If you've never had a driver license and are in this age bracket, you'll have to pass the written and driving tests, along with following Florida's drivers permit procedure. That involves completing a DMV-approved Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Course, and gaining a learners permit or drivers permit. You then must accumulate at least 50 hours of driving time (10 or more at night) with a licensed driver aged 21 and over before applying for your Florida drivers license.
Appointments in Florida
While appointments are encouraged for both the written test and the driving test, they're not required.
Your initial drivers license tests are free. After that, if you do not pass you'll pay $10 for each additional written test, and $20 for each driving test. Because of this, it's smart to take some practice tests before heading to the drivers license office. Doing so enhances your chances of passing the written test on your first try.
Post Comment for "Do I have to take any written or driving tests to obtain a FL driver license?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.