How do I update my North Carolina driver license if I currently have an expired license? North Carolina
New NC Residents
You must get a NC driver license within 60 days of moving here. The process is the same, whether or not your old drivers license is expired.
- If your out of state driver license has been expired less than a year or is still unexpired, then you may use it as one of your two forms of ID.
- If your out of state driver license has been expired longer than one year, then you will have to use two other forms of ID to get a new North Carolina License, such as a birth certificate, passport, military ID, marriage certificate, or Social Security card.
Then you will have to pay the drivers license fee, show proof of insurance, take written and vision tests, and possibly also take a drivers skill test (at the discretion of the NC DMV).
Expired Driver License Current NC Residents
About 60 days before your driver license expires, the DMV will send you a notice to renew it. If your drivers license has expired, just bring it into the DMV and renew the drivers license.
- There’s no penalty for having an expired license.
- Everyone renewing a driver license, regardless of whether it's expired, must come into the DMV and take the vision and traffic signs tests. You may do this 180 days ahead of your expiration date.
Post Comment for "How do I update my North Carolina driver license if I currently have an expired license?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.