What are the drivers license reinstatement requirements for a CA suspended license? California
Suspended License Reinstatement
If the DMV revoked your CA drivers license, the requirements for license reinstatement vary depending on what the charge was.
Fee for Reinstatement
The fee to reinstate a driver license in California is $55. There might also be other fees or penalties associated with the suspension. For example, the CA courts may charge you fines.
California uses a points system for traffic violations. If you get too many points within a year to 36 months, you will get your license suspended. The worse the violation, the more points it’s worth. For example, a speeding ticket might be worth 1 point, while a hit-and-run is worth 2.
To get your license back:
- Pay the fines owed to the court system.
- Make a DMV appointment to pay the reinstatement fee ($55) and show proof of insurance or financial responsibility.
Then there will be a probationary period; if you get a ticket or into an avoidable accident, you will lose your drivers license again.
Drivers licenses may be suspended for 1 to 3 years. After this time, to get your driver license back, you have to follow the orders of the court. These might include:
- Paying court fines.
- Community service.
- Jail time.
- Completing an alcoholic treatment class. You’ll be given a certificate to show the DMV.
After you complete these tasks and your suspension period is up, make an appointment at the DMV. Bring your proof of insurance with you.
Uninsured Motorist Accident
If your license got suspended for a year because you were in an accident without being insured:
- Schedule a DMV appointment for a new drivers license.
- Pay the $55 fee.
- Bring the special insurance proof, California Insurance Proof Certificate, SR 22, from your insurance company.
Failure to Appear in Court/Unpaid Ticket
If your driver license was suspended because you didn’t pay a ticket or didn’t show up for a court date, you must:
- Pay the fines to the court. You may have to appear before a judge.
- The court issues you a receipt stating you have fulfilled your duties.
- Schedule a DMV appointment and pay your reissue fee.
If your drivers license got suspended due to a medical condition:
- See your doctor for an exam. Have the doctor fill out the Driver Medical Evaluation (DS 326) form and provide proof that you are well enough to drive.
- Schedule an appointment at the CA DMV and bring your doctor’s forms with you.
- You may not be required to pay a reissue fee.
Post Comment for "What are the drivers license reinstatement requirements for a CA suspended license?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.