How long before I am eligible for a California drivers license reinstatement if I have a suspended license? California
Suspended License Term
When you are eligible for a CA drivers license again depends on why your drivers license was suspended. The California DMV will tell you how long the suspension will last when it issues the suspension. If you don’t know, order a copy of your driving record, or check with the California court.
- A DUI suspension can last 1 to 3 years.
- A revoked license due to an uninsured motorist accident is 1 year.
- A suspension due to not appearing in court, or not paying traffic tickets, will remain suspended until you take care of these duties.
- A medical suspension can be indefinite, lasting until you get better under the care of a physician.
To reinstate your suspended drivers license, you will have to follow the directions of the court and DMV.
- Wait until after the set license suspension time passes to apply for reinstatement.
- Pay all applicable fines.
- Make sure you have adequate proof of insurance (financial responsibility). This may include getting form SR 22 from your insurance company.
- Pay a $55 reinstatement fee to the DMV.
- Follow all other court and CA DMV orders applicable to getting your driver license back. For a DUI, this could include completing an alcohol treatment program, for example.
Post Comment for "How long before I am eligible for a California drivers license reinstatement if I have a suspended license?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.