If I am older than 18 am I required to take a roadtest?

Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.

  • You could save 15% or more
  • 24 hour claims service
  • Get a FREE instant quote, today!
Yes. All first-time drivers license applicants must take a roadtest, whether it’s at their local DMV exam station or during a drivers education course.

If this is you, and you didn’t have to take drivers ed, consider enrolling in a course anyway to help prepare you for the driving test. At the very least, take the driver training your state requires (some states require applicants to put in a certain number of behind-the-wheel hours before they can get their full drivers license) very seriously.

The only folks exempt are new residents transferring valid out-of-state licenses, or license that haven’t been expired for longer than a state-mandated amount of time.

The grid below gives you a good idea of what to expect in terms of the driving test portion of the drivers license test process; however, if you’re a new resident in your state, note that:

  • Laws change all the time. A state that accepts an out-of-state drivers license that’s been expired for less than a year today might not accept it tomorrow.
  • Certain medical conditions might require you to take the driving test, even if your out-of-state license is valid.
  • Regardless of all other information, it’s always up to the DMV examiner.
Bottom line: Call ahead to be sure of your specific situation.

Yes No
Alabama
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license, or one that's been expired for less than a year.
Alaska
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Arizona
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Arkansas
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license, or one that hasn't been expired for more than a year.
California
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Colorado
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Connecticut
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license, or one that has been expired for fewer than 60 days.
Delaware
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Florida
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Georgia
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license, or one that's been expired for fewer than two years.
Hawaii
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Idaho
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Illinois
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Indiana
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license, you’ve only had your out-of-state license less than a year, or you're still in school and completed the skills test during drivers ed as part of the waiver program.
Iowa
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Kansas
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Kentucky
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Louisiana
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Maine
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Maryland
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license, or one that hasn't been expired for a year. Note that you must have held that license for at least 18 months before moving to Maryland.
Massachusetts
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license, or one that hasn't been expired for more than four years.
Michigan
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Minnesota
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license, or one that's been expired for less than a year.
Mississippi
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Missouri
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license, or one that's been expired for no more than 184 days.
Montana
x
Even if your out-of-state license is valid, Montana reserves the examiner the right to determine whether you'll take the driving test.
Nebraska
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Nevada
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license. Note that if your out-of-state license has been suspended, revoked, or cancelled at any time in the last four years, you'll have to take the driving test.
New Hampshire
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license. This is, however, at the discretion of the examiner.
New Jersey
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
New Mexico
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
New York
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license, one that's been valid for the past six months, or one that hasn't been expired for more than a year.
North Carolina
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
North Dakota
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Ohio
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Oklahoma
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Oregon
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license, or one that's been expired for less than a year.
Pennsylvania
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Rhode Island
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license, or one that's been expired for less than a year.
South Carolina
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
South Dakota
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Tennessee
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Texas
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Utah
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Vermont
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license, or one that's been expired for less than a year.
Virginia
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license. If you're a long-time resident and younger than 19, you'll take the driving test through the required drivers ed course.
Washington
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
West Virginia
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license. You'll probably have to sit through an alcohol awareness course, though.
Wisconsin
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license, or one that's been expired for fewer than eight years.
Wyoming
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license.
Washington DC
x
Unless you're transferring a valid out-of-state license, or one that's been expired for fewer than 90 days.

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "If I am older than 18 am I required to take a roadtest?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

No users have voted.

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.