How do I complete a NC drivers license renewal online? North Carolina
Drivers License Renewal
North Carolina residents may not renew a driver license online. A North Carolina drivers license renewal always requires a vision test and a written test, therefore you must head into a DMV office.
How long the drivers license lasts depends on your age.
- Ages 18-53 are issued for 8 years.
- Ages 54 and up are issued for 5 years.
- The fee is $4 per year, so it will either cost you $32 or $20.
Before the drivers license expires, the DMV will send a renewal notice reminding you the time has come. Then, make an appointment at a DMV office. You can do this 60 days ahead of the expiration date.
- Bring the renewal card, if you have it. This is not a requirement.
- Bring your Social Security card, unless the DMV already has it on file. If you don’t qualify for a Social Security card, bring a government document noting your legal presence in the U.S.
- Bring your old drivers license. If you do not have it, you’ll have to bring two other forms of ID.
- Bring your proof of insurance.
- Take the written and visual exams. You may also be required to take a road driving test.
Because so many years elapse between renewals, it might be a good idea to take a written practice test on the current traffic laws before you head in. You can purchase multiple choice tests from online drivers ed companies.
NC now mails all of its drivers licenses. They’ll issue you a temporary license.
- If your license has expired less than a year ago, the procedure is the same to renew it. There are no special steps to take. Bring in your old license to serve as ID.
- If your license expired more than one year ago, you must apply for a new driver license.
However, if you are caught driving with an expired license, you’ll get a traffic ticket, so be sure to come in before your license expires.
Expired License When Outside the State
- You’re on active duty military service outside of NC or
- You’re out of the state for 30 or more days,
then you may renew the license through the mail. However, you must contact the DMV first to see if you qualify. There is an online contact form, or you can call 919-715-7000.
Post Comment for "How do I complete a NC drivers license renewal online?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.