Can I renew license by mail in New Jersey? New Jersey
NJ Renew LicenseNo, you cannot renew by mail. You can only renew your drivers license in-person at any DMV office (also known as an MVC office in New Jersey). To ease the process, the MVC will mail you a driver license renewal reminder approximately 90 days before your license's expiration date. You can apply for your license renewal up to six months in advance.
To bypass lines, avoid visiting an MVC office at the end of the week and at the end of the month. The best time to visit is in the middle of the week, usually before and after the lunch rush.
Upon arriving, be sure to have:
- Your current drivers license.
- Enough identification to satisfy the state's 6 Point ID Verification requirements.
- Cash, check or credit card (MasterCard, American Express, Visa) to pay your $24 license renewal fee. Or $33 if you're renewing a six-year drivers license.
The Dangers of an Expired License
If you allow your New Jersey drivers license to remain expired longer than three years, you will be required to re-take all three driver license tests (vision, written, road). Plus, if you're caught driving with an expired license you will receive a traffic ticket and be fined.
Post Comment for "Can I renew license by mail in New Jersey?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.