What is the car registration fee in Georgia? Georgia
Car Registration Fees
The basic tag fee for cars weighing less than 15,000 pounds is $20. Motorcycles and hobby or antique vehicles also have a $20 tag fee. Tag fees for trailers, buses, and commercial motor vehicles vary according to vehicle gross weight and the length of registration.
There is also a vehicle ad valorem tax which is based on your car's value and the financial needs of the tax levying organizations in your county of residence. You can visit the Georgia Department of Revenue (DOR) Web site to estimate your ad valorem tax using your tax year and vehicle make and model.
Sales tax must be paid after a vehicle has been purchased from a
Vehicles registered in metro
If you need to apply for a title at the time of vehicle registration, the fee for this service is $18. An additional $10 penalty may be charged if you fail to apply for a title within 30 days of acquiring your vehicle.
There is a $1 convenience fee charged if you wish to have your tag or registration renewal mailed to you.
You can pay for vehicle registration fees by cash, check, or money order made payable to the Office of the Tax Commissioner. However,
Penalty for Late Vehicle Registration
Post Comment for "What is the car registration fee in Georgia?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.