Do I need an ATV license in my state?

Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.

  • You could save 15% or more
  • 24 hour claims service
  • Get a FREE instant quote, today!
Check the grid below to find out if your state requires an ATV license.

Some states listed as requiring an ATV license actually require an ATV or even a motorcycle endorsement on your current drivers license. These differences are noted in the grid, but be sure to contact your local DMV office for details.

Keep in mind, too, that even if the grid doesn’t list your state as requiring an ATV license or as having any special conditions, it might still:

  • Require you have a regular drivers license to operate an ATV.
  • Impose age restrictions for operating ATVs.
  • Require an ATV safety or education course certification (even if you’re older than 18).
  • Require ATV insurance.

Many states do have one or more of those requirements. Again, it’s important to contact your local DMV office to find out about special requirements.

Required Not Required
Alabama
x
Alaska
x
Arizona
x
Three-wheeled vehicles require a Class M license or motorcycle endorsement; four-wheeled vehicles require only a drivers license.
Arkansas
x
California
x
Drivers younger than 17 must have or be with someone who has a valid ATV safety certificate, or be with a certified ATV instructor.
Colorado
x
Connecticut
x
Delaware
x
Florida
x
Georgia
x
ATV laws are the same as motorcycle laws: If the engine is greater than 50cc you must have a motorycle license or endorsement.
Hawaii
x
Idaho
x
Illinois
x
You must have a motorcycle endorsement on your regular drivers license.
Indiana
x
Iowa
x
Kansas
x
Kentucky
x
Louisiana
x
Maine
x
Maryland
x
Massachusetts
x
Michigan
x
Minnesota
x
If you were born after June 1, 1987, you must have in your possession proof you completed the ATV CD Training Course.
Mississippi
x
Missouri
x
Montana Laws vary depending on your town or city. Contact your officials.
Nebraska
x
Nevada
x
New Hampshire Laws vary. Check with your municipality.
New Jersey
x
New Mexico
x
New York
x
North Carolina
x
If you were born on or after January 1, 1990, you must have proof you completed an ATV safety course.
North Dakota
x
If you're between 12-16 years old, you must have a regular drivers license or proof you completed an ATV safety course.
Ohio
x
Oklahoma
x
Oregon
x
Pennsylvania
x
Rhode Island
x
South Carolina
x
South Dakota
x
Tennessee
x
Texas
x
You must possess proof you completed an ATV safety course.
Utah
x
You must possess proof you completed an ATV safety course.
Vermont
x
Virginia
x
Washington
x
West Virginia
x
If you're younger than 18, you must possess proof you completed an ATV safety course.
Wisconsin
x
Wyoming
x
Washington DC
x

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "Do I need an ATV license in my state?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

100% thumbs up 0% thumbs down (9 votes)

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.