How many points can I have before my license is suspended?

INSTANT DRIVING RECORD
Sponsored by BackgroundChecks.com

Only $39.95

* Denotes a Required Information

First Name *
Last Name *
Date of Birth *
License Number *
Address *
City, State, Zip *
I have lived at this address for less than 2 years.
Former Address
Street Address *
City, State, Zip *
 
Instant Driving Record - Exclusively Online!

Instant Motor Vehicle Report Includes: Suspensions, Fines, Violations, Violation Codes, Driving Status, Points, License Classification, and Endorsements

NOTICE: This is standard non-certified driving record. For a certified record, you must contact States's Motor Vehicle Agency
BackgroundChecks.com Logo

Get your personal drivers´ license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.

Most (but not all) states use a point system to keep track of how many traffic violations you’ve committed. If yours is a state that does this, points are added to your personal driving record every time you get a ticket. The states that do employ a point system each have a different tolerance level; some states will suspend your license if you accumulate too many points in a short period of time, while others may accept more points and allow you to continue driving.

Alabama, for example, will suspend your license for 60 days if you gradually accumulate 12 to 14 points. In Nevada, though, being assigned 12 points in a 12-month period will get your license suspended for six months. You can check your driving record online to see how many points you have been assigned. Each traffic infraction, from speeding to following too closely, stays on your record for a different amount of time; they will eventually drop off your motor vehicle driving record.

While your driving record is usually available by mail from your state’s DMV, most people find it far more convenient to get a copy of their certified driving record online.

It’s important to know that having a license suspended is different than getting a license revoked; if your license is suspended, you will get it back after a predetermined amount of time. However, if your license is revoked, you may have to take a state-certified safe driving course and fulfill other requirements that vary according to the state you’re in.

Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.

  • You could save 15% or more
  • 24 hour claims service
  • Get a FREE instant quote, today!

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "How many points can I have before my license is suspended?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

66% thumbs up 33% thumbs down (3 votes)

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.