Is there a late fee or penalty for expired vehicle registration in California? California
Vehicle Registration Late Fee
Yes. You must complete the registration renewal by the due date, or you’ll incur late fees. Penalties are:
- $10 for 1 to 10 days.
- $15 for 15 to 30 days.
- $30 for 30 days to one year.
- $50 for one year to two years.
- $100 for more than two years.
Avoid a Traffic Ticket
Failing to renew your registration on time can get pricey. For example, if you are pulled over, you’ll get a traffic ticket for having an expired car registration, so in addition to the registration late fees you'll pay the California DMV, you'll also have to cover the cost of the ticket. You might even have to make an appearance in court.
CA has several ways to renew a registration, including online, by mail, or in person, so you can complete your transaction right away.
Post Comment for "Is there a late fee or penalty for expired vehicle registration in California?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.