When gifting a car, what is required to transfer the title in NJ? New Jersey
Transferring Titles for Vehicles as GiftsIf you've received a vehicle as a gift, you'll want to process the title transfer as such. To do so, the seller (who is actually the person gifting the vehicle) must write "GIFT" as the sale price on the car title. You then must visit any NJ MVC office and:
- Complete an Application for Certificate of Origin. You can download the form from the MVC's Web site.
- Provide the signed-over title. Be sure to sign it and add your driver license number.
- Provide proof of car insurance.
- Have cash, a check, a money order, or a credit card (MasterCard, Visa, American Express) to pay $60 title fee.
The word "GIFT" as the sales price on the title (not on a bill of sale) will earn you tax exempt status. This means you will not be charged sales tax on the vehicle.
Be sure to title your vehicle immediately. New Jersey requires all newly purchased vehicles to be titled within 10 days of the sale. You will be charged a penalty fee if you go beyond the 10-day limit.
Post Comment for "When gifting a car, what is required to transfer the title in NJ?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.