Is there a late fee or penalty for expired vehicle registration in Pennsylvania? Pennsylvania

PA Late Fees and Penalties for Late Vehicle Registration

Although late fees are not assessed for updating an expired motor vehicle registration in PA, penalties are incurred for operating an unregistered motor vehicle. To avoid these penalties, register your vehicle as soon as possible.

Renewing Pennsylvania Car Registration


Within 30-60 days of your vehicle registration expiration, the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) will send you a car registration renewal form to your home address.

If you do not receive your registration renewal form in the mail, you can download a renewal application at the PennDOT website and mail it into PennDOT. To save time and a postage stamp, you can also process your registration renewal online.

It takes about 5-10 minutes to complete the online registration renewal. Use your credit card to pay the $36 annual vehicle registration renewal fee online. Motorcycle registrations cost $18 annually.

Data required on the PA registration renewal form (print or online) includes:

  • Your motor vehicle mileage.
  • Auto insurance company name.
  • Insurance policy number.
  • Car insurance policy start and end dates.

Pennsylvania Vehicle Fees and Penalties


Complete Form MV-371 (Application for Retired Persons $10 Processing Fee on a Vehicle Registration) if you receive Social Security Insurance benefits. Should you qualify for “Retired Status” it will only cost $10 for you to renew your registration. This fee is basic and does not include a late fee charge.

Motor vehicle registration renewal fees for trucks and commercial motor vehicles are based upon the class and weight of the vehicle.

One of the penalties that you could receive for driving an unregistered car is a traffic ticket. Because points are accessed to your drivers license when you receive a PA traffic ticket, this penalty could increase your car insurance rates.

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "Is there a late fee or penalty for expired vehicle registration in Pennsylvania?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

100% thumbs up 0% thumbs down (2 votes)

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.