Last Updated 28th of July, 2010
Is there a late fee or penalty for expired vehicle registration in Georgia? Georgia
Penalties and Fees for Late Vehicle Registration in GeorgiaThe Georgia (GA) Department of Revenue (DOR) sets late fees and penalties assessed for completing a car registration late. Registration renewal paperwork is completed and submitted at local Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) offices.
GA residents are required to register their motor vehicles within 30 days of purchasing a new car or a used car. Vehicles are also renewed annually in GA.
Residents are assessed a late fee when they renew an expired registration. Late registration fees are as follows:
- $20 for passenger motor vehicles and light trucks.
- 10% of the ad valorem tax amount (this tax is based on the value of your car).
- 25% of the tag fees (in addition to the standard tax fees).
GA residents are encouraged to renew their vehicle registration before it expires. Doing so can help them to avoid a traffic ticket.
Vehicles Exempt from Registration in Georgia
Vehicles that do not required GA vehicle registration are:
- All-terrain and off-road motor vehicles.
- Motorized carts.
- Farm trackers.
- Agriculture trailers that weigh fewer than 3,500 pounds (vehicle must be used for farming).
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "Is there a late fee or penalty for expired vehicle registration in Georgia?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
No users have voted.
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.