Is there a grace period for expired license plates or California vehicle registration? California
Expired Vehicle Registration
There is no grace period in California for expired license plates or car registration. As soon as the expiration date passes on your license plate sticker, you’ll:
- Be subject to receiving a traffic ticket from a police officer.
- Have to pay penalties when you finish registration renewal with the DMV.
The CA DMV charges the following:
- Up to 10 days late: $10
- 15-30 days late: $15
- 30 days-1 year late: $30
- 1-2 years late: $50
- 2 years late: $100
Renew your DMV registration before the expiration date, so you can get new license plate stickers and registration card ahead of time.
Post Comment for "Is there a grace period for expired license plates or California vehicle registration?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.