What are the vehicle title fees in Texas? Texas

Texas Vehicle Title Fees

The Texas (TX) Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires residents to complete a vehicle title application within 20 days of purchasing a motor vehicle. Texans have up to 45 business days to title a used car if the seller is financing the vehicle.

Complete a car title application at a county tax office. Data that you will provide on the title application includes:

  • Your first and last names.
  • Street mailing address (including city, state, and zip code).
  • Make, model, and year of the motor vehicle.
  • Seller’s first and last names.
  • Lienholder name and contact information (if the vehicle is being financed).
TX does not require residents to pay standard fees for vehicle titles. Each person who purchases a used car in TX must pay a motor vehicle sales tax.

The DMV motor vehicle sales tax or fee is paid at local county tax offices. The title transfer fee is as follows:

  • 6.25% the vehicle purchase price, or
  • 6.25% of the standard presumptive value of the vehicle.
Presumptive values on motor vehicles are updated weekly. Dial (512) 465-7611 should you have questions about your title fee. Be advised that fees that are paid late are assessed a $25 fine.

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "What are the vehicle title fees in Texas?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

No users have voted.

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.