Last Updated 23rd of June, 2010
Is there a grace period for expired license plates or Illinois vehicle registration? Illinois
License Plates and DMV RegistrationYou have a 30-day grace period with the RMV. If you go beyond 30 days after your car registration's expiration date, you will be fined a $20 late fee. Keep in mind, however, that this grace period will not protect you against being ticketed if you're stopped by the police.
The Illinois Secretary of State (SOS), as a courtesy, will mail you a registration renewal form about 60 days before your vehicle registration's expiration date. All the information you need to know about renewing your registration will be on this form, including your fee. You can renew online, by phone, mail or in-person at any SOS office.
If your registration is only days away from expiring, renew in-person. You'll receive your new registration certificate and license plate decal immediately. The other ordering options will take several days for your new documents to arrive in the mail, putting you at risk of getting ticketed for driving with an expired license plate.
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "Is there a grace period for expired license plates or Illinois vehicle registration?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
60% 40% (5 votes)
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.