Last Updated 9th of August, 2010
How many convictions does it take before the state declares someone a habitual offender?
Each state governs habitual offenders differently. Some states base designation on points, others on major traffic offenses. And there are many states without a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO) law on the books.
DUI, Traffic Tickets, and Speeding TicketsIf you reside in a habitual offender state, designation is usually based on the following major offenses:
- Vehicular homicide.
- Vehicular assault.
- Driving or operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI or DWI).
- Driving a motor vehicle while your permit or drivers license is suspended or revoked.
- Leaving the scene of an accident involving injury and or death.
- Reckless driving.
- Attempting to elude police.
|Alabama||Habitual offender law does not apply to DUI.|
|Alaska||No habitual offender law.|
|Arizona||No habitual offender law.|
|Arkansas||No habitual offender law.|
|California||Three or more within a 10-year period.|
|Colorado||Three or more within a seven-year period.|
|Connecticut||No habitual offender law.|
|Delaware||Three or more within a five-year period.|
|Florida||Three or more within a five-year period.|
|Georgia||Three or more within a 10-year period.|
|Hawaii||Three or more within a 10-year period.|
|Idaho||No habitual offender law.|
|Illinois||No habitual offender law.|
|Indiana||Three or more within a 10-year period.|
|Iowa||Three or more within a six-year period.|
|Kansas||Three or more within a five-year period.|
|Kentucky||No habitual offender law.|
|Louisiana||Three or more within a five-year period.|
|Maine||Three or more within a five-year period.|
|Maryland||No habitual offender law.|
|Massachusetts||Three or more within a five-year period.|
|Michigan||No habitual offender law.|
|Minnesota||No habitual offender law.|
|Mississippi||No habitual offender law.|
|Missouri||No habitual offender law.|
|Montana||30 or more conviction points within a three-year period.|
|Nebraska||No habitual offender law.|
|Nevada||No habitual offender law.|
|New Hampshire||Three or more within a five-year period.|
|New Jersey||Three or more license suspensions within three-year period.|
|New Mexico||No habitual offender law.|
|New York||No habitual offender law.|
|North Carolina||Three or more offenses within a seven-year period.|
|North Dakota||No habitual offender law.|
|Ohio||No habitual offender law.|
|Oklahoma||No habitual offender law.|
|Oregon||Three or more in a five-year period, or a combination of 20 minor and major offenses within five years.|
|Pennsylvania||Three or more within a five-year period.|
|Rhode Island||Three or more convictions within a three-year period.|
|South Carolina||Three or more within a three-year period, or 10 or more four-point moving violation convictions.|
|South Dakota||No habitual offender law.|
|Tennessee||Three or more within a five-year period.|
|Texas||Four or more convictions within 12 months, or seven or more convictions within 24 months.|
|Utah||No habitual offender law.|
|Vermont||Eight or more convictions within a five-year period.|
|Virginia||Three or more within a 10-year period.|
|Washington||Three or more within a five-year period.|
|West Virginia||No habitual offender law.|
|Wisconsin||Four or more in a five-year period.|
|Wyoming||No habitual offender law.|
|Washington DC||No habitual offender law.|
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "How many convictions does it take before the state declares someone a habitual offender?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
66% 33% (3 votes)
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.