Is it illegal to drive while texting in my state?

Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.

  • You could save 15% or more
  • 24 hour claims service
  • Get a FREE instant quote, today!

Text Message May Lead to Traffic Ticket

Prohibiting texting while driving continues to gain momentum among state legislators, especially in light of new studies that claim text messaging while operating a vehicle is just as dangerous as driving while drunk. Currently 23 states and the District of Columbia have safety laws banning all drivers from texting. Eight other states have limited bans, aimed mainly at younger drivers with intermediate licenses. 

Penalties vary by state and often by county. In California, for instance, a driver caught texting will be charged $20. A subsequent violation will cost $50. If the texting causes an accident, the driver could also be charged with reckless driving and unsafe operation of a vehicle. 

If you're planning a road trip that will take you outside of your home state, be sure to familiarize yourself with the texting and cell phone laws of the other states you'll be driving in. For assistance, contact each respective state's DMV or state police.   

 
Illegal to Text While Driving No Texting Restrictions
Alabama
x
Alaska
x
Arizona
x
Arkansas
x
California
x
Colorado
x
Connecticut
x
Delaware
x
Only learners permit and intermediate license holders are banned.
Florida
x
Georgia
x
Hawaii
x
Idaho
x
Illinois
x
Indiana
x
Only drivers younger than 18 are banned.
Iowa
x
Kansas
x
Only learner and intermediate license holders are banned.
Kentucky
x
Louisiana
x
Maine
x
Only drivers younger than 18 are banned.
Maryland
x
Massachusetts
x
Michigan
x
Minnesota
x
Mississippi
x
Only learner and provisional license holders are banned.
Missouri
x
Only drivers younger than 21 are banned.
Montana
x
Nebraska
x
Nevada
x
New Hampshire
x
New Jersey
x
New Mexico
x
New York
x
North Carolina
x
North Dakota
x
Ohio
x
Oklahoma
x
Oregon
x
Pennsylvania
x
Rhode Island
x
South Carolina
x
South Dakota
x
Tennessee
x
Texas
x
Only school bus operators and drivers younger than 18 are banned.
Utah
x
Vermont
x
Virginia
x
Washington
x
West Virginia
x
Only learner and intermediate drivers are banned.
Wisconsin
x
Wyoming
x
Washington DC
x

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "Is it illegal to drive while texting in my state?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

No users have voted.

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.