What is the fine for driving without a license?

This is one of those answers you want to find out on the computer rather than when sitting behind the wheel of a car. Getting caught operating a vehicle with a suspended drivers license will result in a traffic ticket and possible short- and long-term financial ramifications. Not only will you receive a fine for driving without a license, but it could possibly spike your insurance premiums depending on the circumstance. 

Each state imposes its own penalties. The grid contains fine information for drivers of suspended licenses (first time offenders) only. 

Fine No Fine
Alabama
x
$100 to $500
Alaska
x
$500 to $1,000
Arizona
x
$300 to $500
Arkansas
x
No more than $500
California
x
$300 to $1,000
Colorado
x
$50 to $500
Connecticut
x
$150 to $200
Delaware
x
$500 to $1,000
Florida
x
$500
Georgia
x
$500 to $1,000
Hawaii
x
$250 to $500
Idaho
x
Up to $500
Illinois
x
Up to 2,500
Indiana
x
No more than $500
Iowa
x
$250 to $1,000
Kansas
x
At least $100
Kentucky
x
$250
Louisiana
x
Up to $5,000
Maine
x
$250 (minimum of $600 if suspension was due to DUI)
Maryland
x
Not more than $500
Massachusetts
x
$500 to $1,000
Michigan
x
Not more than $500
Minnesota
x
Up to $1,000
Mississippi
x
$200 to $500 fine
Missouri
x
Not more than $1,000
Montana
x
Up to $500
Nebraska
x
Up to $500
Nevada
x
$500 to $1,000
New Hampshire
x
Up to $1,000
New Jersey
x
$1,000
New Mexico
x
Up to $1,000
New York
x
$200 to $500
North Carolina
x
$500 to $2,500
North Dakota
x
$250 to $1,000
Ohio
x
Up to $1,000
Oklahoma
x
$100 to $500
Oregon
x
$1,000 if suspension due to DUI
Pennsylvania
x
$200 ($1,000 if suspension due to DUI)
Rhode Island
x
$250 to $500
South Carolina
x
$300
South Dakota
x
$1,000
Tennessee
x
Up to $500
Texas
x
$100 to $500
Utah
x
Up to $750
Vermont
x
Up to $5,000
Virginia
x
$750
Washington
x
Up to $5,000
West Virginia
x
Up to $500
Wisconsin
x
$600
Wyoming
x
Up to $750
Washington DC
x
$1,000

Visitor Comments

  • Posted by Josh on March 25th, 2010

    In Virginia you can receive jail time, even on a first offense

Post Comment for "What is the fine for driving without a license?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

83% thumbs up 16% thumbs down (6 votes)

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.