Last Updated 6th of May, 2010
What is the helmet law for riding motorcycles in Florida? Florida
Florida Motorcycle Helmet LawsThe helmet law in Florida is a little different than the helmet laws in most states, as it has a financial component.
To drive a motorcycle without a helmet in the Sunshine State, you must be at least at least 21 years old AND have at least $10,000 in personal injury insurance. If you're not at least 21 with $10,000 coverage, you must wear a helmet.
Moped and Scooter Helmet LawsFlorida has safety laws for mopeds and scooters, too: All passengers younger than 16 years old must wear protective headgear (i.e., helmets).
Motorcycle Riding and SafetyEven if you have a motorcycle license or endorsement, it's still a good idea to keep your riding skills sharp by participating in a motorcycle safety class every few years.
Have any additional questions regarding motorcycles, motorcycle insurance, safety laws, helmet laws, or related matters? Contact the FL DHSMV at (850) 617-2000.
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "What is the helmet law for riding motorcycles in Florida?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
100% 0% (2 votes)
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.