Last Updated 20th of May, 2010
What are the ID card fees in TX? Texas
Texas Identification Card FeesYour Texas state ID fee will vary depending on your age and situation. You’ll pay:
- $16 if you’re younger than 60 (this includes children and teens, though a teen won’t need the card once he receives his drivers license) and the card is valid for six years.
- $6 if you’re 60 or older, and the card has no expiration date.
- $21 if you’re required to obtain an ID under the state’s sex offender registration program (Chapter 62, CCP) and the card will expire annually.
Name and Address ChangesState law requires you to notify the TX Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office within 30 days if your name or address changes. Address changes can be completed online, but you will need to visit the DMV office in person with documentation to support a name change.
There is an $11 fee to receive a new ID card with your updated identification information, which is the same as the fee to replace an ID card that is lost or stolen.
ID Card ErrorsAlthough the TX DMV strives to provide accurate and efficient service, there may occasionally be cases where resident receive ID cards with incorrect information.
If you are mailed a card that contains an error, please call (512) 424-2600 or visit any Texas driver license office to have it corrected. There is no fee to fix an error on your state ID card, although you will be asked to provide documentation that proves the listed information is incorrect.
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "What are the ID card fees in TX?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
100% 0% (2 votes)
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.