How often must I renew a state ID card?

A state identification card is available in every state and the District of Columbia. It, in most instances, is only available to residents who do not hold a valid drivers license. 

Renew State ID With Your Local DMV

The length of your ID card depends on your state. Most are valid for four to five years (see accompanying grid).

Depending on your DMV, you may or may not receive an ID card renewal notice. Unlike a drivers license, however, you won't be penalized for not renewing your identification card.

However, if you've grown accustomed to the advantages of harboring a state ID card, it's in your best interest to avoid an expired ID. Airlines, for instance, won't allow you to board a jet with invalid ID, nor will banks allow you cash checks with dated photo ID.

For information on renewing your identification, contact your local DMV.

Alabama Every four years.
Alaska Every five years.
Arizona No expiration date.
Arkansas Every four years.
California Every six years, or 10 if you're 62 or older.
Colorado Every five years.
Connecticut Every six years.
Delaware Every four years.
Florida Every four years.
Georgia Every five or ten years.
Hawaii Every six years.
Idaho Every four or eight years, depending on your age.
Illinois Every five years.
Indiana Every six years.
Iowa Every five years.
Kansas Every six years.
Kentucky Every four years.
Louisiana Every four years.
Maine Every six years.
Maryland Every five years (two years if younger than 16 years old).
Massachusetts Every five years.
Michigan Every four years.
Minnesota Every four years.
Mississippi Every four years.
Missouri Every six years.
Montana Every four years.
Nebraska Every five years (one to five years if younger than 21 years old).
Nevada Every four years.
New Hampshire Every five years.
New Jersey Every four years.
New Mexico Every four or eight years (contingent on whether you applied for a four- or eight-year ID card).
New York Every four or five years, or every eight and nine years.
North Carolina Every five or eight years.
North Dakota Every ten years.
Ohio Every four years.
Oklahoma Every four years.
Oregon Every eight years.
Pennsylvania Every four years.
Rhode Island Every five years.
South Carolina Every five years.
South Dakota Every five years.
Tennessee No renewal required if 65 or older.
Texas Every six years (no renewal required if 60 or older).
Utah Every five years.
Vermont Every four years.
Virginia Every five years.
Washington Every five years.
West Virginia Must be renewed on 18th and 21st birthdays, and every five years thereafter.
Wisconsin Every eight years.
Wyoming No expiration.
Washington DC Every eight years.

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "How often must I renew a state ID card?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

100% thumbs up 0% thumbs down (2 votes)

How would you rate this answer?

Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on is not legal advice, is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.