What are the child car seat laws in Texas? Texas

Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.

  • You could save 15% or more
  • 24 hour claims service
  • Get a FREE instant quote, today!

Texas Child Restraint Laws

Whether you're a parent, grandparent, or a regular childcare provider, it's important to be aware of the car seat laws in the state of Texas. Because passenger restraint systems are designed for the needs of full-grown adults, children require either a car seat or booster seat in order to stay safe while traveling.

Texas child restraint laws are as follows:

  • Infant-only or rear-facing convertible seats: Birth until at least one year old and 20 pounds.
  • Rear-facing convertible baby car seats designed for heavier infants: Birth until at least one year old and between 20 and 35 pounds.
  • Convertible or forward-facing seats with harnesses: Older than one year and weighing between 20 and 40 pounds.
  • Belt-positioning booster seat (either high-back or no-back): More than 40 pounds, ages four to eight, unless 4'9" tall.
The above guidelines apply as long as the child is traveling in a vehicle with an open seating position and belt. The fine for violating the law is $25 for the first offense and up to $250 for subsequent offenses.

Additional Information


Because there are many different types of car seats and available, many parents find proper installation confusing. However, child car seats are only effective if they are being used correctly. If the car seat is not properly attached to your vehicle or the straps aren't adjusted to fit your child, the restraint system is not providing the maximum amount of protection.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) maintains a listing of child safety seat inspection locations with certified inspectors. Please call 1-866-SEAT-CHECK if you need assistance locating a Texas car seat inspection location.

TX Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) representatives can also answer questions about child restraint laws and other safety laws in the state.

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "What are the child car seat laws in Texas?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

0% thumbs up 100% thumbs down (2 votes)

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.