Last Updated 28th of May, 2010
What is the TX seat belt law? Texas
Understanding the Texas Seat Belt LawSeat belts are the best protection you have against death or serous injury when traveling in an automobile. Texas requires that both drivers and passengers wear car seat belts whenever possible.
According to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), there are two ways you can be charged with violating the seatbelt law:
- You are age 15 or older traveling in a vehicle equipped with seat belts and your seat belt is not properly buckled. This is considered a misdemeanor punishable with a fine between $25 and $50.
- You are operating a vehicle that is equipped with safety belts and allow a person younger than 17, but old enough not to require a car seat, to ride with no belt. This is considered a misdemeanor punishable by a fine between $100 and $200.
TX Seat Belt Law ExemptionsWhile seat belts are required for the majority of Texas residents, there are certain cases where exemptions to safety laws can be made:
- A person obtains a statement from a physician saying he has a medical reason that wearing a car seat belt is unsafe or obtains a statement within 10 days of the offense.
- The person is employed by the United States Postal Service in a capacity that requires frequent entry and exit from the vehicle.
- The person is delivering newspapers, thus requiring frequent entry and exit from the vehicle.
- The person is employed as a meter reader for a public or private utility company and must frequently enter and exit the vehicle.
- The person is driving a commercial vehicle registered as a farm vehicle that does not have a gross weight, registered weight, or gross weight rating of 48,000 pounds or more.
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "What is the TX seat belt law?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
100% 0% (1 vote)
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.