How many years does DUI appear on drivers license?

After the cold reality of a DUI or DWI settles in, the most common question is "How many years does DUI appear on drivers license?" It's an answer that varies with each state. Some states will expunge it from a record after only five years, while many others treat it as a permanent offense. Check your driving record to see if it is showing on your driving report.

If you're unsure of the DUI laws in your state, you should consider consulting a DUI attorney. They may not be able to drop the conviction, but they could lessen your sentence and/or fine. 

Permanent Removed After Specified Number of Years
Alabama
x
Remains on record for a minimum of five years
Alaska
x
Arizona
x
Removed after five years
Arkansas
x
Remains on record for up to 10 years
California
x
Removed after 10 years
Colorado
x
Removed after five years
Connecticut
x
Remains on record for up to 10 years
Delaware
x
Remain on record for a minimum of five years
Florida
x
Removed after 75 years
Georgia
x
Hawaii
x
Remains on record for up to five years
Idaho
x
Illinois
x
Indiana
x
Removed after 10 years
Iowa
x
Kansas
x
Can be removed after five years (must file motion)
Kentucky
x
Remains for a minimum of five years
Louisiana
x
Remains on record for 10 years
Maine
x
Remains on record for up to 10 years
Maryland
x
Massachusetts
x
Michigan
x
Remains on record for a minimum of 10 years
Minnesota
x
Mississippi
x
Remains on record for a minimum of five years
Missouri
x
Remains on record for 10 years
Montana
x
Nebraska
x
Removed after 12 years
Nevada
x
New Hampshire
x
Removed after 10 years
New Jersey
x
New Mexico
x
Removed after 55 years
New York
x
Removed after 10 years
North Carolina
x
Remains on record for seven years
North Dakota
x
Removed after seven years
Ohio
x
Oklahoma
x
Oregon
x
Pennsylvania
x
Removed after 10 years
Rhode Island
x
South Carolina
x
Removed after 10 years
South Dakota
x
Tennessee
x
Texas
x
Utah
x
May be removed after 10 years
Vermont
x
Virginia
x
Removed after 11 years
Washington
x
Removed after 15 years
West Virginia
x
Wisconsin
x
Wyoming
x
Remains for a minimum of five years
Washington DC
x
May be removed after 15 years

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "How many years does DUI appear on drivers license?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

50% thumbs up 50% thumbs down (4 votes)

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.