Last Updated 27th of May, 2010
What is the FL seat belt law? Florida
Understanding the Florida Seat Belt LawFlorida's seat belt law is straightforward: Anyone riding in the front seat of a vehicle made after 1968 needs to wear a seat belt. Teens younger than 18 must always wear a car seat belt (or be secured by a safety seat) regardless of seat location.
The seatbelt law applies to passengers and drivers in cars, pick-up trucks, and vans. Violators will be fined at least $30 for each offense, plus $6 in court costs. If you're the driver and a passenger younger than 18 breaks this law, you're responsible for the violation.
Other FL Car Seat Belt Laws
In case you're interested, here are the safety laws for young children:
- Ages 4-5: Must wear a safety belt or be in a federally approved child safety seat
- Ages 0-3: Must wear a federally approved child-restraint car seat
Other Information About Car Seat Belts
Have any other questions regarding seat belts and safety laws? Contact the DHSMV at (850) 617-2000 or visit the Florida Highway Patrol site for additional information.
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "What is the FL seat belt law?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
66% 33% (3 votes)
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.