Last Updated 30th of May, 2010
What are the child car seat laws in Georgia? Georgia
Georgia Child Restraint LawsIn the state of Georgia, the safety laws regarding car seats - including baby car seats - are as follows:
- Children five years of age and younger must ride in the back seat of a passenger vehicle when a backseat is present.
- If the vehicle does not have a back seat, children are permitted to ride in the front seat, provided they ride in car seats appropriate for their height and weight.
- Children weighing up to 40 pounds must ride in a child safety seat at all times.
- Failure to comply with car seat laws results in a $50 fine per child.
Additional Child Restraint LawsIn addition to car seat laws, GA child restraint laws include the following:
- Children taller than 4’9’’ are permitted to ride with a safety belt, as opposed to a car seat, provided they are in the back seat.
- Children weighing more than 40 pounds are permitted to ride with a lap belt only, provided there is no shoulder strap available and they are in the back seat.
- Children younger than 16 must wear a safety belt at all times.
GA State RecommendationsIn addition to child restraint laws, Georgia makes the following recommendations:
- Children 12 years of age and younger should ride in the backseat, whenever possible.
- Used child car seats, particularly car seats involved in an accident, should be avoided.
- Children and adults should wear safety belts at all times, regardless of vehicle speed or destination.
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "What are the child car seat laws in Georgia?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
50% 50% (2 votes)
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.