Last Updated 29th of May, 2010
What is the NY seat belt law? New York
Understanding the New York Seat Belt LawThe New York seatbelt law stipulates the following seat belt requirements:
- All front seat passengers, regardless of age, must wear seat belts.
- Kids younger than 16 must wear seat belts when seated in the front and back seats.
- Kids younger than four must ride in a properly secured child safety seat.
- All kids younger than eight must be secured in an appropriate child safety restraint system. This includes a child safety seat, a harness, a vest, or a booster seat. The safety device must meet the size and weight requirements for your child based on federal requirements and the recommendations of the manufacturer.
Penalties for Ignoring the NY Seat Belt LawIf you’re caught ignoring the state’s safety laws related to car seat belts, you will be fined $50. If the violation is for a passenger who is under 16, the fine will double to $100 and three points will be added to your drivers license.
If you have any questions about who must where a car seat belt and when, contact your local NY DMV location or law enforcement office.
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "What is the NY seat belt law?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
100% 0% (1 vote)
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.