Last Updated 28th of May, 2010
What is the NC seat belt law? North Carolina
Seatbelt Law in NCThe seat belt law for North Carolina is pretty basic: Everyone must buckle his or her seat belt. You must buckle the seat belt properly; no sticking part of the belt behind your back.
The safety laws concerning seat belts allow for a few exemptions.
- Vehicles that were made without car seat belts, like cars made before 1967 and buses.
- Rural letter carriers and newspaper carriers, while on the job.
- Delivery drivers who go slower than 20 mph and have to stop a lot.
- A driver with a doctor’s exam saying he or she may not wear a car seat belt.
- Farm-license plated vehicles, while in service.
- Passengers in a motor home, unless they are sitting up front.
- Garbage collectors.
Additional Pickup Truck Exemptions
While NC laws require buckling up, they allow passengers older than 16 to ride in pickup truck beds.
Seatbelt Law PenaltiesThe state assesses these penalties:
Front Seat Riders, Age 16 and Older
- $100.50 for court
Rear Seat Riders, Age 16 and Older
- No court fees
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "What is the NC seat belt law?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
66% 33% (3 votes)
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.