What are the child car seat laws in New Jersey? New Jersey

Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.

  • You could save 15% or more
  • 24 hour claims service
  • Get a FREE instant quote, today!

New Jersey Child Restraint Laws

The New Jersey car seat laws require the following regarding baby car seats and child car seats:

  • All kids younger than eight years old who weigh fewer than 80 pounds must ride in a properly secured child safety seat or booster in the car's rear seat. The child may ride in front, but only if there is no rear seat option.
  • Any child younger than eight years old who exceeds 80 pounds must wear a seat belt.
  • All riders between eight and 18 years old, regardless of weight or height, must wear a seat belt.
Violating the car seat safety laws comes with a $25 fine for first time offenders. For more information on these safety laws visit the NJ Attorney General's website, or read chapter three of the NJ drivers manual. You can grab a free copy from any MVC office.

Free Inspections of Child Car Seats

As a public service to parents, the NJ Department of Law and Public Safety provides statewide inspections of child car seats. You can find inspection listings by county on the New Jersey Attorney General's website.
 
These inspections instruct parents on proper car seat installation and examine car seats for any possible defects or warning signs caused by common wear and tear. All inspections are free of charge.

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "What are the child car seat laws in New Jersey?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

No users have voted.

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.