What is the law for window tinting in NJ? New Jersey

New Jersey Window Tinting Restrictions

New Jersey is noted for having the toughest car tint restrictions in the nation under the grounds of viewer obstruction. This is confirmed by statute 39:3 -74, which sums up the tint laws, stating:

"No person shall drive any motor vehicle with any sign, poster, sticker, or other non-transparent material upon the front windshield, wings, deflectors, side shields, corner lights, adjoining windshield or front side windows of such vehicle other than a certificate or other article required to be so displayed by statute or by regulations of the commissioner."  

Or, in more layman-like terms, the NJ Tint Law mandates the following restrictions:

Darkness of Tint


  • Windshield: No tinting allowed.
  • Front side windows: No car tint allowed.
  • Back side windows: No darkness restrictions.
  • Rear Window: No darkness restrictions.

Reflective Tint


  • Front side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance allowed.
  • Back side windows: No metallic or mirrored appearance allowed.

Miscellaneous Window Tint Rules


  • Restricted colors: No restrictions.
  • Side mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required if the back window has auto tinting.
  • Sticker requirements: No sticker required.

Penalties for Tinted Windows

If stopped for illegal window tinting according to the safety laws you will be hit with a $150 fine.

In addition, you cannot pass an MVC vehicle inspection with tinted windows. Driving without a valid inspection sticker, or one that's expired carries hefty consequences. You could face fines of up to $200 and/or be tossed in jail for a maximum of 30 days. In addition, depending on the circumstances, you could even have your vehicle registration revoked.

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "What is the law for window tinting in NJ?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

100% thumbs up 0% thumbs down (1 vote)

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.