Last Updated 29th of May, 2010
What are the child car seat laws in Illinois? Illinois
Car Seat Requirements as Dictated by IL Child Restraint LawsIllinois requires all parents to adhere to the following child safety requirements:
- Kids younger than eight must be secured in sanctioned baby car seats or child car seats. This includes infant seats, convertible seats (forward-facing seats for toddlers and rear-facing seats for infants) and booster seats that are secured with a lap/shoulder seat belt setup. You, the parent or guardian, are responsible for providing your child with an appropriate child safety seat and ensuring that the device is properly attached and secured.
- Kids younger than eight who top the 40-pound limit may ride in the back seat of a car while only buckled in by a lap belt if the back seat is not outfitted with a lap/shoulder seat belt harness.
- Kids eight years old and older but younger than 16 must wear a seat belt, regardless of seating position within the vehicle.
- If the driver of the vehicle is either 16 or 17 years old, the age for proper seat belt use among passengers jumps to 19.
Penalties for Violating IL Car Seat LawsFirst-time offenders caught ignoring the state's safety laws regarding car seats will be fined $50. This penalty will be waived if you can provide proof of owning an acceptable car seat. The fine leaps to $100 for repeat offenders.
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "What are the child car seat laws in Illinois?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
No users have voted.
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.