Last Updated 3rd of July, 2010
What is the law for window tinting in IL? Illinois
Window Tinting and Illinois Safety LawsTinting is allowed in Illinois provided it conforms to the following car tint restrictions:
- Windshield: Non-reflective window tint is allowed on the top six inches.
- Front side windows: Car tint must allow more than 35% of light through the window.
- Back side windows: Auto tinting must allow more than 35% of light through the window.
- Rear Window: Window tint must allow more than 35% of light through the window.
If you're unfamiliar with this term, imagine mirrored sunglasses.
- Front side windows: Non-reflective only.
- Back side windows: Non-reflective only.
Miscellaneous Tint Law Regulations
- Restricted Colors: No color restrictions.
- Side mirrors: Dual side mirrors required if back has tint.
- Sticker requirements: No decal identifying legal tinting is required.
IL Tint Laws and PenaltiesBecause there is no annual safety inspection in Illinois you cannot be denied vehicle registration due to tinted windows.
You can, however, be fined. Being caught with illegal tinting carries an initial fine of no less than $50. Any subsequent violation is treated as a Class C misdemeanor and comes with a minimum penalty of $100. Chicago, however, takes a more ironhanded stance, charging tint law violators $250.
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "What is the law for window tinting in IL?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
100% 0% (1 vote)
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.