Last Updated 27th of May, 2010
What is the MA seat belt law? Massachusetts
Understanding the Massachusetts Seat Belt LawThe MA seat belt law is clear: Every occupant riding in a private passenger motor vehicle must wear a properly adjusted and fastened seat belt or be in a child restraint system. This applies to riding in vans and small trucks (weighing fewer than 18,000 pounds).
Furthermore, it doesn't matter where the occupant is seated in the vehicle.
Car Seat Belt ViolationIf you're driving a car without using a seat belt, you could face a $25 fine for breaking the seatbelt law. If you're driving anyone between the ages of 12-15 who isn't wearing a seat belt, you could be fined another $25 per violation.
Even passengers who are at least 16 years old could face a $25 fine if they're caught not wearing seat belts.
MA police officers cannot pull you over for breaking this law; you must be stopped for another violation before you can be charged with breaking the seat belt law.
More Seat Belt Law Details
For more information regarding safety laws concerning the use of car seat belts, consult the state vehicle code, the drivers license manual, or contact the RMV at (617) 351-4500 or (800) 858-3926.
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "What is the MA seat belt law?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
100% 0% (1 vote)
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.