Last Updated 4th of June, 2010
Can I get a traffic ticket for an improper child seat?
Penalties for Using Improper Car SeatsAll 50 states and the District of Columbia enforce strict child restraint laws. You will receive a traffic ticket and be fined if you neglect to provide a proper baby car seat or child safety seat for any passenger in your vehicle who is required by law to use one.
Laws and fines (see grid below) vary by state. Child seat requirements are based on age, weight, and height. Unfortunately there is no universal law. Delaware, for example, requires car seats for all kids under the age of seven, while in Mississippi the same mandate only applies to riders three years old and younger.
Where to Find Car Seat InformationTo start learning more about your state’s car seat laws, check with your local DMV. Even if it does not have the information you're seeking for child or baby car seats, it can direct you to the proper source. Or, you can also try your local police department, which is generally a pretty good source for your state’s safety laws.
NOTE: The fines below are for only first-offense violations of the laws for child car seats.
|Alabama||Maximum fine of $25.|
|Alaska||Maximum fine of $50.|
|Arizona||Maximum fine of $50.|
|Arkansas||Maximum fine of $100.|
|California||Maximum fine of $100.|
|Colorado||Maximum fine of $81.|
|Connecticut||Maximum fine of $60.|
|Delaware||Maximum fine of $25.|
|Florida||Maximum fine of $60.|
|Georgia||Maximum fine of $50.|
|Hawaii||Maximum fine of $100.|
|Idaho||Maximum fine of $100.|
|Illinois||Maximum fine of $50.|
|Indiana||Maximum fine of $25.|
|Iowa||Maximum fine of $25.|
|Kansas||Maximum fine of $60.|
|Kentucky||Maximum fine of $50.|
|Louisiana||Maximum fine of $100.|
|Maine||Maximum fine of $50.|
|Maryland||Maximum fine of $25.|
|Massachusetts||Maximum fine of $25.|
|Michigan||Maximum fine of $10.|
|Minnesota||Maximum fine of $50.|
|Mississippi||Maximum fine of $25.|
|Missouri||Maximum fine of $50.|
|Montana||Maximum fine of $100.|
|Nebraska||Maximum fine of $25.|
|Nevada||Maximum fine of $500.|
|New Hampshire||Maximum fine of $50.|
|New Jersey||Maximum fine of $25.|
|New Mexico||Maximum fine of $25.|
|New York||Maximum fine of $100.|
|North Carolina||Maximum fine of $25.|
|North Dakota||Maximum fine of $25.|
|Ohio||Maximum fine of $75.|
|Oklahoma||Maximum fine of $25.|
|Oregon||Maximum fine of $90.|
|Pennsylvania||Maximum fine of $100.|
|Rhode Island||Maximum fine of $75.|
|South Carolina||Maximum fine of $150.|
|South Dakota||Maximum fine of $20.|
|Tennessee||Maximum fine of $50.|
|Texas||Maximum fine of $25.|
|Utah||Maximum fine of $45.|
|Vermont||Maximum fine of $25.|
|Virginia||Maximum fine of $50.|
|Washington||Maximum fine of $124.|
|West Virginia||Maximum fine of $20.|
|Wisconsin||Maximum fine of $75.|
|Wyoming||Maximum fine of $50.|
|Washington DC||Maximum fine of $75.|
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "Can I get a traffic ticket for an improper child seat?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
100% 0% (2 votes)
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.