Last Updated 3rd of June, 2010
What are the fees for a GA car dealers license? Georgia
License and License Renewal Fees for GA Auto DealersIn order sell used cars in the state of Georgia, you must obtain a state-issued dealers license. (Businesses selling new cars are considered franchises of the auto manufacturers and do not require a dealer license.)
Initial licensure fees include:
- $170 Application fee.
- $170 Supplemental application fee for an additional lot.
- $250 Penalty fee for non-licensed auto sales.
Fees to Renew Your Dealers LicenseCar dealer licenses are valid for two years, and expire on March 31 of evenly numbered years. The GA MVD will send you a license renewal application six weeks prior to license expiration. Submit the following fees with your license renewal application:
- $150 Renew license fee.
- $250 Penalty fee for late renewal.
- $420 Reinstatement fee for applications received after May 31.
Miscellaneous Dealers License FeesDealers may also be subject to the following miscellaneous fees:
- $25 Name and change of address fee.
- $25 Duplicate license fee.
- $25 Fee per letter of license verification.
- $100 Fee for inclusion on the electronic roster of Licensed Used Motor Vehicle Dealers.
How to Pay Your FeesAll car dealers fees are payable to the Used Motor Vehicle Dealer Board. Checks and money orders may be sent to the following address:
Georgia State Board of Registration
Used Motor Vehicle Dealers & Used Motor Vehicle Parts Dealers
Used Motor Vehicle Dealers Division
P.O. Box 13446
Macon, GA 31208
Fees may also be paid by credit card on the Georgia Secretary of State website.
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "What are the fees for a GA car dealers license?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
No users have voted.
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.