Last Updated 13th of June, 2010
What are the AL driving permit test requirements? Alabama
Alabama Driving Permit Test RequirementsThe Alabama Department of Public Safety (DPS) issues each learners permit and drivers license in the state.
Before you receive a driving permit in Alabama (AL) you must be at least 15 years old. You must also pass a vision screening and a written permit test. Questions on the exam are taken from the Alabama Driver’s License Manual (which you can download from the DPS website).
Visit the nearest AL drivers license office to take the written permit test. Complete the permit application form. Bring your parents or legal guardians with you to the license office if you are younger than 19 years old.
Provide two forms of identification (i.e. Social Security card, United States passport, birth certificate, school identification card, military identification card) to the clerk. One of the identification forms must have your photo on it. Residents who are younger than 19 years of age are required to bring a completed Student Enrollment Exclusion Form (DL-1-93) with them to the license office.
Items covered on the written drivers permit examination include:
- Traffic signs and signals.
- Posture and steering.
- Turning on two lane roadways.
- Turning from four lane highways.
- Driving alongside motorcycles.
- Parking on flat surfaces and on hills.
- Seat belt laws.
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "What are the AL driving permit test requirements?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
100% 0% (1 vote)
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.