Last Updated 13th of June, 2010
What restrictions apply to new and teen drivers with a GA drivers license? Georgia
GA Teen Driver License RestrictionsIn the state of Georgia, teens younger than 18 are eligible only for a restricted Class D drivers license. Class D license restrictions are as follows:
- You can only drive between the hours of 6 a.m. and 12 a.m.
- During the first six months, you cannot drive with passengers other than immediate family members.
- During the second six months, only one passenger other than immediate family is permitted.
- After 12 months, up to three passengers other than immediate family is allowed.
Preliminary Steps for a Class D LicenseIn order to obtain a Class D license, you must first obtain a learners permit. According to the Teenage & Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA), you must hold a drivers permit for one year and one day before applying for an intermediate license.
In addition, completion of the following steps is required of all drivers younger than 18:
- Completion of a drivers education course.
- Completion of 40 hours drive time, to include six hours of night driving.
- Completion of the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP).
GA Department of Driver Services
Post Office Box 80447
Conyers, GA 30013
Obtaining a Class D LicenseOnce you have completed the preliminary steps, you can apply for a Class D license by submitting the following to your local Customer Service Center:
- Initial driving permit.
- Signed drivers education affidavit.
- ADAP card.
- Certificate of School Attendance, or a copy of your GED.
- $10 license application fee.
Prior to the driving test, you will have to complete a second vision test, and submit proof of your vehicle’s insurance and registration. Rental vehicles are not permitted for GA driving tests.
If You Fail
In the case of a failed driving test, you can retake the test the next day, provided it is the first time you failed the test. If you fail a second time, you can retake the test in seven days. Applicants who fail a third time must wait 30 days to retake the test.
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "What restrictions apply to new and teen drivers with a GA drivers license?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
100% 0% (1 vote)
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.