How do I update my Nebraska driver license if I currently have an expired license? Nebraska

Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.

  • You could save 15% or more
  • 24 hour claims service
  • Get a FREE instant quote, today!

Renewing an Expired License in Nebraska

In Nebraska, most residents receive a driver license that is valid for five years. The NE Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) sends a renewal notice to all drivers 90 days before their license is scheduled to expire.

If your driver license has expired, you will need to visit the nearest DMV office to begin the reinstate license process as soon as possible. You can't renew your drivers license online or by mail due to concerns about privacy and the risk of identity theft.

If you don't have your renewal reminder notice, you'll need to complete a separate data form at the DMV. If your license has been expired for one year or longer, you will need to complete the written license test in addition to the vision screening that is required of all license renewal applicants.

The written exam is a multiple-choice question test covering traffic sign identification, state licensing laws, and general traffic safety. You can prepare for the written license test by reviewing the driver handbook published by the NE DMV. The DMV website also has an interactive written exam with practice test questions and a downloadable AAA sample test.

A driving test is generally not required to renew an expired license. If the DMV representative has reason to believe you cannot safely operate a motor vehicle, however, you may be asked to complete this extra step.

Penalty for Driving with an Expired License

Although there is no extra fee to renew an expired driver license, you will have one point added to your driving record if you are stopped by a law enforcement officer and given a traffic ticket for driving with an expired license.

If you accumulate 12 points in a two-year period, you will have your license suspended for six months. If you fail to comply with a revocation under the point system, you could be fined $500 or sentenced to up to 30 days in jail.

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "How do I update my Nebraska driver license if I currently have an expired license?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

No users have voted.

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.