How do I update my Vermont driver license if I currently have an expired license? Vermont

Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.

  • You could save 15% or more
  • 24 hour claims service
  • Get a FREE instant quote, today!

License Renewal: Expired More than Three Years

If your Vermont drivers license has been expired for more than three years, you will have to be retested to complete the reinstate license process. This means passing vision, written, and driving tests.

To prepare for the written license test you'll need to study the state's drivers manual, your number one study source. You can grab a copy from any DMV office, or by downloading from the DMV website.

After studying the manual in its entirety, you'll next want to gauge if you're test-prepared by taking at least one practice test. These can be found online, allowing you to take as many practice tests as needed.

When you're ready to test, make an appointment with Central Scheduling by calling (802) 828-2085. When you arrive at the DMV, have with you:

  • Proof of VT residency.
  • Proof of identity and place and date of birth.
  • Proof of your Social Security number.
  • Cash or a check or money order to pay all applicable fees.
If you pass both tests you'll be eligible to take the driving test.

When you arrive at the driving test site, be sure to have:

  • A working vehicle.
  • Another licensed driver.
  • Your insurance identification card.
  • Your vehicle's registration certificate.
Pass and you'll receive a new VT driver license.

License Renewal: Expired Fewer than Three Years

This license renewal process is a bit easier. Visit the DMV with:

  • Proof of residency.  
  • Proof of identity and place and date of birth.
  • Proof of your Social Security number.
  • Your expired driver license, if available.
  • Cash or a check and money order to pay all applicable fees.
You'll also need to pass a vision test.

Driving With an Expired License

You may still drive with your VT driver license up to 14 days after the expiration date. If you attempt to drive with the expired license after 14 days, you will, if stopped, receive a traffic ticket and be fined.

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "How do I update my Vermont driver license if I currently have an expired license?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

No users have voted.

How would you rate this answer?

Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on is not legal advice, is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.