What is the law about children in front seat?
Did you know that auto accidents are the top killer of children? In a lot of cases, children who die in these accidents are not properly buckled in. Many of these deaths can be prevented through proper usage of seat belts and child safety seats.
Once a child outgrows a booster seat, he or she should continue riding in the back seat with a seat belt until around age 13. However, some passenger safety organizations such as SafetyBeltSafe
Most states don’t have a specific age for children to ride in the front seat of a vehicle, but many recommend for children to ride in the back seat as long as possible. Airbags are designed for the average adult male who weighs approximately 165 pounds. They can’t provide adequate protection for children who are significantly smaller.
States will have other specific child restraint laws and laws that spell out the use of a car seat.
Listed below are the current law enforcements regarding children riding in the front seat.
|Alabama||all children 12 and under are required to ride in the back seat|
|Alaska||children 13 and under must be in the back seat|
|Arizona||recommended children 12 and under ride in the back seat|
|Arkansas||recommended all children ride in back seat|
|Delaware||all children under the age of 12 must be in the back seat|
|Georgia||children 6 and under in the back seat|
|Iowa||6 and older can ride in front seat|
|Kansas||over 8 can ride in front seat|
|Kentucky||children 7 years and older can wear seat belt in front seat|
|Louisiana||children 6 and above can ride in front seat|
|Maine||children less than 12 years of age and less than 100 pounds in the back seat|
|Maryland||recommended all kids under 16 ride in back seat|
|Massachusetts||12 and under must ride in back seat|
|Minnesota||under the age of 13 should sit in the rear of a vehicle|
|Nevada||children under the age of 12 need to be properly restrained in the back seat|
|New Hampshire||no law|
|New Jersey||children younger than 8 must ride in the rear seat|
|New Mexico||no law|
|New York||no law|
|North Carolina||no law|
|North Dakota||no law|
|Ohio||children under the age of 12 must be in the back seat|
|Pennsylvania||recommended that children 12 and under ride in the back seat|
|Rhode Island||7 and older can ride in the front seat|
|South Carolina||children under 6 years old cannot ride in the front seat|
|South Dakota||no law|
|Washington||children under 13 should be in the back seat|
|West Virginia||no law|
|Wyoming||children 9 and younger must be in back seat|
|Washington DC||no law|
Posted by scottyvon on March 14th, 2010
MA law states 12 and under ride in back seat. Airbags are designed for the average adult male who weighs approximately 165 pounds.
Post Comment for "What is the law about children in front seat? "
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.