How much do inspection stations charge?

Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.

  • You could save 15% or more
  • 24 hour claims service
  • Get a FREE instant quote, today!
Some states standardize vehicle inspection fees; others leave it up to the individual inspection stations. Keep in mind that in addition to regular fees, you might also need to pay for repair costs (if your vehicle fails the inspection and needs repairs) as well as a fee for a re-inspection.

Inspections are important in order to make sure each vehicle on the roadways is operating safely and efficiently. If your state requires a vehicle inspection, it’s most likely that’s you’ll need to take care of it before, during, or shortly after you register your vehicle or renew your vehicle’s registration. Make sure you handle the inspection within the appropriate amount of time in order to proceed with these vehicle transactions as well as avoid penalties such as citations and additional fees.

The grid below lists how much you can expect to pay.

NOTE: Even if the grid notes that your state doesn’t require a vehicle inspection, it doesn’t mean there aren’t certain situations in which vehicles do require inspections. For example, many states require emissions inspections, and your state might require VIN inspections before you can register an out-of-state vehicle or a salvage vehicle that you’ve rebuilt. Be sure to get full registration and inspection details from your state’s motor vehicle licensing agency.

Alabama Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Alaska Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Arizona Depends on level of inspection. Expect it to be anywhere from free (Level 1 at an MVD location) to $50 or more.
Arkansas Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
California Free.
Colorado Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Connecticut $10 for the first inspection. The first re-inspection is free, but every re-inspection after that is another $10.
Delaware Free.
Florida Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Georgia $10-$25
Hawaii Roughly $15; fees may vary.
Idaho Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Illinois Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Indiana Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Iowa Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Kansas Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Kentucky Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Louisiana $10-$18, depending on the parish.
Maine $12.50
Maryland Varies with each inspection station’s labor rate.
Massachusetts $29
Michigan Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Minnesota Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Mississippi $5
Missouri Fees may vary by location. Call ahead.
Montana Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Nebraska Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Nevada Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
New Hampshire Fees may vary by location, but expect to pay $40-$60. Call ahead.
New Jersey Fees may vary based on location and vehicle. Call ahead.
New Mexico Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
New York $10 ($25 for emissions, which takes place at the same time)
North Carolina Fees vary. Expect to pay $13.60 plus additional station fees and additional fees for certain vehicle extras (like tinted windows).
North Dakota Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Ohio Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Oklahoma Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Oregon Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Pennsylvania Fees vary based on, and are posted at, each inspection station.
Rhode Island $39
South Carolina Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
South Dakota Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Tennessee Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Texas For safety inspections only, expect $14.50-$23.75, depending on how long it’s valid.
Utah $9-$22, depending on the vehicle.
Vermont Fees are based on each station’s hourly rate scale.
Virginia $12-$16, depending on the vehicle.
Washington Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
West Virginia $12.50
Wisconsin Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Wyoming Vehicle inspections aren’t required.
Washington DC Depends on the vehicle. Expect to pay $10-$35.

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "How much do inspection stations charge?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

50% thumbs up 50% thumbs down (8 votes)

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.