How do I complete a title transfer in Louisiana? Louisiana

Transferring Titles in Louisiana

In the state of Louisiana, title transfers must be completed within five days of a vehicle being sold, bought, inherited, or giving as a gift. Fortunately, it is a relatively straightforward process, no matter the situation, provided all required documents are accounted for.

Sell Car

 
If you are selling a car, you must complete the following steps to transfer the title:

  1. Sign and date the back of the title, and have the new owner do the same. In the case of joint owners, the signature of both owners is required.
  2. List the current odometer reading on the title, and complete an Odometer Disclosure Statement if the vehicle is 10 years old or newer.
  3. Complete the Bill of Sale.
  4. Complete the Notice of Transfer. You can also notify the state of the transaction online.
  5. Give the completed Bill of Sale, vehicle title, and the Odometer Disclosure Statement to the new owner.
  6. Mail your passenger vehicle plates, along with the Notice of Transfer, to the following address:
Office of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 64886
Baton Rouge, LA 70896

Be sure to follow up with the Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) within five days, to ensure the completion of the title transfer.

Buy Car

 
If you are purchasing a new vehicle from a dealership, the dealer will complete the title transfer for you.

When it comes to used cars, however, consider obtaining a vehicle history report prior to finalizing the sale. Whether you’re buying the used vehicle from a dealership or a private seller, this report will provide you with the complete vehicle history to help you make a better informed choice.
 
Complete the following steps to transfer the title for a used vehicle:

  1. Have notarized the completed title and bill of sale.
  2. Complete your portion of the Odometer Disclosure Statement if the vehicle is 10 years old or newer.
  3. Submit all documents, including a completed Application for Title and proof of liability insurance, to your local OMV.
  4. Pay the $18.50 transfer fee, plus an $8 handling fee at most locations.
If you do not plan to drive the vehicle – in which case, vehicle registration is not required – you can apply for the title transfer by mail. Contact OMV headquarters ahead of time to verify the handling fee. Send all documents and required fees to the following address:

Louisiana OMV
P.O. Box 64866
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
(225) 925-6146

Vehicle Inheritance

 
If you are inheriting a vehicle from a deceased party, consider consulting with a probate attorney regarding the car title transfer. While the details of the transaction may vary, in the majority of cases, you must submit the following to the OMV:

  • Certified copy of final judgment of possession, if the vehicle was court-awarded
  • Affidavit of Small Succession, if the vehicle was awarded by the Department of Revenue.
  • Affidavit of Heirship, and the previous owner’s death certificate.
  • Completed Application for Title.
  • Current title and registration certificate. Titles issued after 1990 must be notarized.
  • Completed Bill of Sale or Act of Donation, if you plan to sell or donate the vehicle.
  • Completed Odometer Disclosure Statement, if the odometer reading is not listed on the title.
  • $18.50 transfer title fee, plus the $8 handling fee.
If there is a lien on the vehicle, you can assume the loan by submitting a completed UCC-1 form, or a Security Agreement form. Contact the lienholder directly, for more information regarding loan options.

Vehicle Gifting

 
If you are receiving a vehicle as gift, submit the following to the OMV:

  • Notarized Act of Donation.
  • Odometer Disclosure Statement if the vehicle is 10 years old or newer.
  • Completed Application for Title.
  • $18.50 transfer title fee, and the $8 handling fee.
If you are going to drive the vehicle, you must have it registered. Registration for a gifted vehicle must be completed in person at a local OMV branch. Otherwise, you can mail all documents and fees to OMV headquarters.

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "How do I complete a title transfer in Louisiana?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

0% thumbs up 100% thumbs down (1 vote)

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.