Last Updated 22nd of July, 2010
How do I obtain first time vehicle registration in Nevada? Nevada
Register Car in NVTo apply for car registration, visit your local DMV office and provide:
- The car's title.
- A smog check certification, if applicable. Currently, only residents in or around Las Vegas and Reno must comply with Nevada's emissions requirements.
- A Vehicle Inspection Certificate. This only applies to new residents and vehicles being registered in NV for the first time.
- Current vehicle registration and out-of-state title (applies only to new residents).
- A Nevada Evidence of Insurance Card.
- A completed Application for Vehicle Registration (VP-222). This can be downloaded from the DMV's website.
- Payment for registration fees. Rates vary, determined by vehicle weight, Governmental Services Tax (based on a percentage of the car's value), and, depending on county, a Supplemental Governmental Services Tax.
Relocating to NV and Obtaining Vehicle RegistrationAfter moving to Nevada and establishing residency, you must register your car with the DMV within 60 days. Failure to register within this timeframe could result in fines of up to $1,000.
NV Emissions Testing for SmogCurrently, only residents of Clark and Washoe counties must adhere to Nevada's emissions inspection requirements. Depending on county, test fees, for light duty vehicles, range from $39 to $40. For help in finding an authorized emissions inspection station near you, call one of the following numbers:
- Las Vegas: (702) 486-4981
- Carson City: (775) 684-4790
- Reno: (775) 684-3580
No visitor comments posted. Post a comment
Post Comment for "How do I obtain first time vehicle registration in Nevada?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
No users have voted.
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.