How many points do you get for moving violations?

INSTANT DRIVING RECORD
Sponsored by BackgroundChecks.com

Only $39.95

* Denotes a Required Information

First Name *
Last Name *
Date of Birth *
License Number *
Address *
City, State, Zip *
I have lived at this address for less than 2 years.
Former Address
Street Address *
City, State, Zip *
 
Instant Driving Record - Exclusively Online!

Instant Motor Vehicle Report Includes: Suspensions, Fines, Violations, Violation Codes, Driving Status, Points, License Classification, and Endorsements

NOTICE: This is standard non-certified driving record. For a certified record, you must contact States's Motor Vehicle Agency
BackgroundChecks.com Logo

Get your personal drivers´ license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.

That depends on your state and factors such as speed. Generally, the less serious moving violations get fewer points, but those points vary. Colorado, for example, charges 4 points for improper passing and 1 point for speeding tickets going 5 to 9 MPH over the speed limit, and a whopping 12 points for going 40 or more MPH above the limit. California charges a blanket 1 point for all minor moving violations. Texas penalizes with 2 points for all traffic tickets, unless it resulted in an accident, in which case it’s 3 points.

Most states suspend your drivers license if you accumulate enough points within a set period. In Texas, getting four moving violations within a 12-month window will get your license suspended. In Massachusetts, three violations within a 12-month period earns an automatic 30-day suspension. This suspension of your drivers license comes with hefty fines, too.

If you don't know how many points you have, you'll need to order a copy of your driving record.

Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.

  • You could save 15% or more
  • 24 hour claims service
  • Get a FREE instant quote, today!

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "How many points do you get for moving violations?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

100% thumbs up 0% thumbs down (1 vote)

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.