Does South Carolina require an inspection for vehicle registration? South Carolina
Although some states require safety inspections, emissions testing, or smog checks as a condition of vehicle registration or registration renewal, the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) makes no restrictions on drivers who wish to register cars. However, for your own personal safety, it is a good idea to make sure your vehicle receives regular maintenance in order to avoid experiencing mechanical trouble while driving. In addition, many of the steps to reduce harmful vehicle emissions will also save you money by increasing your vehicle's fuel efficiency.
While drivers are not required to have safety inspections, emissions testing, or smog checks for car registration, they are required to have the appropriate auto insurance coverage. The minimum liability insurance in
- $25,000 in coverage per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 in coverage for all persons injured in one accident
- $25,000 in coverage for property damage per accident
When registering your vehicle, you will need to provide the name of your insurance company and your policy number. If your insurance is cancelled or has expired, you must turn in your license plate and vehicle registration to the nearest SC DMV or face a penalty charge of up to $400 per vehicle for the first offense.
Post Comment for "Does South Carolina require an inspection for vehicle registration?"
To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.
How would you rate this answer?
Thank you for rating this answer.