Is there a grace period for purchasing auto insurance?

Enter your Zip Code below to get a Free Quote. We suggest getting quotes from multiple companies to ensure you get the best rate. There is no obligation to purchase.

  • You could save 15% or more
  • 24 hour claims service
  • Get a FREE instant quote, today!
It depends on your state and situation, but the generalized answer is to purchase car insurance immediately or as soon as possible and always keep up with your insurance renewal.

Car Insurance Grace Period After Purchasing a Vehicle

As a requirement for vehicle registration, most states require either proof of a car insurance policy (that, at the minimum, meets the state’s liability coverage requirements) or some other proof that the owner meets the state’s financial responsibility requirements (such as a surety bond or deposit posted with the county clerk, comptroller, judge, or the state’s DMV agency).

Given this, you might think you have from the time you purchase the vehicle until the time you register it to buy an auto insurance policy; however, typically, that’s not the case.

What is the case depends on your state, your current insurance provider and policy, and your situation.

For example, common scenarios include:

  • Purchasing a car insurance policy before you drive off the lot (or away from the seller’s house). This usually applies to a vehicle that is either your first or only vehicle, or a vehicle that will not replace any other vehicle on your current insurance policy.
  • Having your current insurance policy extend to your new vehicle. This usually applies to vehicles that were part of a trade-in; though, depending on your insurance provider, this could apply to situations involving private sellers, too.
Clearly, the best way to handle the situation is to contact your insurance provider and your local DMV branch or your state’s department of insurance before purchasing the vehicle. Explain your situation and your plans and find out the exact steps you must take.

Grace Period for Driving Without Insurance

Driving with no insurance long after you’ve purchased and registered the vehicle is another story.

Every state that requires vehicle owners to carry car insurance or in some other way meet financial responsibility requirements imposes penalties for not meeting those requirements.

Again, this varies by state, but no state is easy on offenders. For example, if you’re caught driving without insurance in Delaware, you’ll face a $1,500 fine and license suspension; in Virginia, you’ll face both license and registration suspension, a $500 statutory fee, having to file a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) with the DMV for three years, and payment of any reinstatement fees.

Grace Period for Lapse in Insurance Renewal

This depends entirely on your auto insurance provider. If you’re late paying your premium, your provider might allow a grace period of anywhere from 24 hours to 30 days before canceling your policy; on the other hand, your provider might not offer any grace period at all.

If you think your payment is going to be late, be sure to contact your provider for details.

Visitor Comments

No visitor comments posted. Post a comment

Post Comment for "Is there a grace period for purchasing auto insurance?"

To post a comment for this article, simply complete the form below. Fields marked with an asterisk are required.

User Opinions

No users have voted.

How would you rate this answer?



Thank you for rating this answer.

Continue
DMVAnswers.com (the Site) is a privately owned, for-profit Web site owned by OnlineGURU, Inc. The Site specifically disclaims any and all connection with any state bureau, division, or Department of Motor Vehicles, or any state or federal government agency. DMVAnswers.com does its best to get the correct information but does not claim responsibility for the accuracy of the information displayed herein. It is not complete or certified information. The information provided on DMVAnswers.com is not legal advice, DMVAnswers.com is not a lawyer referral service, and no attorney-client or confidential relationship is or should be formed by use of the site. Additionally, the Site expressly disclaims any and all liability for third party links or resources on the Site and any claims of negligence arising from same. For official information, please consult your state motor vehicle department.